Year of changes: A 2023 recap of my Medium experience.

Only after looking back, I realize how many things changed in one year.

Yalım
5 min readDec 18, 2023

Hey there. It’s time for an annual recap! As you know, I was already doing monthly recaps on Medium, but now I better understand what changed.

Also, sharing my monthly stats and doing monthly recaps became like a chore over time but that’s another story.

Today I want to focus on 2023. This year, especially the second part of it seems like the year where I made some of the most important choices of my life so far.

From things under my control such as;

  • My job (a part-time, unfulfilling job to a full-time job in my field)
  • My country of residence (Montpellier/France to Berlin/Germany).

To things I had no control over such as;

  • The elections in Turkey
  • The far-right in Europe getting more than 20% of votes in France and Germany. Winning the elections in the Netherlands.
  • Argentina elected a weirdo?
  • The situation in Ukraine, Palestine…

All of these changed both my reality and my perception of the world significantly.

--

--

Yalım

Psychology and psychoanalysis graduate. Interests: psychology, psychoanalysis, philosopy, politics, litterature, history, shitposting, music, games @Berlin